Ambrose Alli University

Graduate Empowerment programme


Ambrose Alli University (AAU) is a state-owned university in Edo State, Nigeria. It was established in 1981 by the governor of Bendel State (now Edo and Delta States), Ambrose Folorunsho Alli. Initially known as Bendel State University, subsequently known as Edo State University, and finally changed to its present name in commemoration of professor Ambrose Folorunsho Alli, AAU is accredited and recognized by the National Universities Commission (NUC). The Ambrose Alli University Library houses the information resources for the institution.

The current vice-chancellor (acting capacity) of the university is Sunny Adagbonyi. He was appointed on 8 February 2022 by Governor of Edo state Godwin N. Obaseki.

The former vice chancellor, Ignatius Onimawo is credited for his unique deployment and application of information and communications technology (ICT) in every aspect of the day-to-day running of the institution.

Contact Information


 KM 70 Benin Auchi Road
P. M. B 14, Ekpoma
Edo State Nigeria


Monday to Friday: 8am to 4pm

 +234 805 130 6155

 +234 805 130 6005


 [email protected]

 [email protected]


Other Contacts:

Vice Chancellor: +234 905 849 4343

Registrar: +234 905 849 4345